Randomly Mental ™

My Online Junk-Drawer of Blogging Miscellany ™

Washington State Unemployment Claim System Is Down: Many Filers Unable To Claim Benefits

Posted by kristobaldude on January 13, 2014

01/13/14

Jan 13, 2014 - Error from Washington state unemployment weekly claim filing system online

Jan 13, 2014 – Error from Washington state unemployment weekly claim filing system online.

exclamation in yellow circleQUICK FLASH: – Washington State Unemployment Online Claims System Is Down!

I just did a boolean Google search for “Washington state unemployment online claims (broke|problem|fail|down)” and there was nothing indicating there was a problem. Quickly, I tried to file my claim online this morning twice, and both times, after spending 10 minutes completing my weekly filing, only at the end of the process did it tell me there was a problem. Quick Rant –> the system, in order to not waste my time, should tell me up front if I’m not going to be able to use it. As a programmer I can tell you this smacks of poor attention to user experience. I considered calling and reporting this, but the last time I called I was on hold for over an hour and a half, due to, as the representative apologetically explained, budget cuts.

The error returned by the system was:

The system database is currently unavailable. Please try again later.
For assistance, please contact the Unemployment Claims TeleCenter during working hours.
Good-bye.

If anyone is experiencing this same problem, I was able to finally submit my claim using the phone system. Here is the number: 800-318-6022. It’s more tedious to do the phone submission, but perhaps that’s just my opinion.

Since this is the first article on this issue I would like to see how many others have been effected. If you found this post useful, or have the same problem with the unemployment system, please leave a comment and share your experience. Thanks.

-Kristobaldude

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response to “Washington State Unemployment Claim System Is Down: Many Filers Unable To Claim Benefits”

  1. kristobaldude said

    Hey guess what … today was the first day I was actually able to file my unemployment online. So, either that means they had a know bug and finally fixed it, or it is an intermittent problem and I just had the bad luck to experience every time I tried to file my weekly claim. …lol. Give it a try and see if it works for you. Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

 
