Randomly Mental ™

My Online Junk-Drawer of Blogging Miscellany ™

SOLVED! Dreamweaver CS3 ColdFusion “preview in browser” not working or broken (Windows)!

Posted by kristobaldude on June 12, 2010

ColdFusion

ColdFusion

Dreamweaver CS3 “preview in browser” not working!

I found this solution after much research – it is a cached Google post and the original site doesn’t seem to exist anymore:

Apr 20 2010 RE: cannot test to IE or Firefox using Dreamweaver 8 html or cf sites
Posted By: Randy

I realize that the original post is very old, but I too had a similar problem that was really giving me fits. I finally figured out the solution. It seems that for some reason ColdFusion shuts down unexpectedly from time to time. No rhyme or reason for it. My solution was to go restart ColdFusion. Here are the steps to do that in Win XP. Goto Control Panel Open Administrative Tools Open Services Select the ColdFusion Application Either click on the Start the service or right click and select “Start”. Should work like a charm. At least it did for me. I have no idea why ColdFusion service keeps stopping though. This has been plaguing me for months now. I kept searching for a solution and kept coming back to this post. Thought others might be doing the same thing. 

Source:  http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:BHXVMkYIU_MJ:www.seattlecfug.com/forum/code-help/2742+Firefox+can’t+establish+a+connection+to+the+server+at+localhost:8500&cd=3&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us

SOLUTION: Restarted failed Main ColdFusion service.

One Response to “SOLVED! Dreamweaver CS3 ColdFusion “preview in browser” not working or broken (Windows)!”

  1. happy for you – we always feel good when we succeed 😉

Leave a Reply

 
