Randomly Mental ™

My Online Junk-Drawer of Blogging Miscellany ™

How to get VirtualDub To Store Codec Or Compression (Xvid, DivX, etc.) Information

Posted by kristobaldude on January 26, 2010

When saving VirtualDub settings (.vcf) files, It Doesn’t Store Codec Or Compression (Xvid, DivX, etc.) Information!

I am using VirtualDub 1.9.8. I have a folder full of large avi files and I want to convert each file down to a smaller Xvid compressed avi, and also rename it in the process. I did a Google search for “how to run batch files with VirtualDub” and got a lot of results. However, after investigating the first 2 or 3, it seems that something is going awry, though I am following their directions to a tee. Mainly, everytime an external program loads the .vcf (settings configuration) file I created and launches VirtualDub (aka: Vdub), VirtualDub processes the file using uncompressed “Full Processing Mode”, instead of the the compression settings (Xvid MPEG-4 Codec, in this case) that I saved in the .vcf! This results in a file size (MB) equal to or larger than the original, which is exactly the OPPOSITE of what I am trying to accomplish!

I have tried the following programs, and all seem to do what they are supposed to, but still they won’t compress my file for some reason!

So, I want to ask help of anyone who may be able to answer these questions for me and others who might be experiencing the same frustration:

  1. Is this a known problem with Vdub and are there any good known fixes? (note Google search was not fruitful in this regard.)
  2. How can I automatically (unattended) batch down-convert a directory of video files using VirtualDub or any other free software that will accomplish this task?

A final note, most of the information I have found on VirtualDub in this respect is sparse and out-of-date, the latest seeming to be on average from around 2006 sometime (it is January 2010 as I write this).

I thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide in this matter!

Leave a Reply

 
