Randomly Mental ™

My Online Junk-Drawer of Blogging Miscellany ™

Netflix Down, Not Working, Outage – December 8, 2009

Posted by kristobaldude on December 8, 2009

I did multiple google searches for the following search terms: “Netflix down, Netflix site down, Netflix not working, Netflix Outage, Netflix Instant Watching Trouble, Netflix problems December 8 2009, what’s wrong with netflix?“, none of which returned any relevant results for the last 24 hours. So, I decided to blog about it in case anyone else is experiencing this issue and looking for some solace and understanding.

I don’t know exactly what the root of the problem is, but the symptoms are these:

  1. I can log into Netflix.com fine
  2. I can click into a movie’s description page fine
  3. Hovering doesn’t seem to be working (implies AJAX-related problem)
  4. Unable to load and watch “instant-watch” movies, and sometimes Internet Explore hangs when attempting to load the movie.
  5. Same results on multiple computers.

I would be VERY interested to know:

A) IS anyone else is experiencing this issue, and

B) Has anyone knowledge of what is going on and/or any feasible solutions, or ETA’s for repair?

UPDATE: As of 4PM (CST) Netflix instant watch seems to be working fine. My best estimation is that it was down for 4 hours. It would have been helpful for the Netflix personnel to have posted a notice about the outage. I would hope that they will take this into consideration should this happen again.

Netflix down, Netflix site down, Netflix not working, Netflix Outage, Netflix Instant Watching Trouble, Netflix problems December 8 2009, what’s wrong with netflix?

3 Responses to “Netflix Down, Not Working, Outage – December 8, 2009”

  1. Paul said

    Dude,

    The service seems to be down again completely. There’s a message on the site stating as much but I’ve had the same problems for the last day and a half.

    Worked perfectly fine earlier on but when I sat down to watch a movie about 10 minutes ago, it was gone again.
    I was getting “payment error” messages when trying to stream from my Xbox 360 or on the site.

  2. laughter9 said

    It’s midnight on Tuesday night/Wednesday morning here on the West Coast and the site suddenly is completely down and has been for the past ten minutes or so. I guess they must have been having problems all day. Perhaps it’s a sign I should go to bed. :o)

  3. Stephen Hoffman said

    3:45AM EST. Netflix still down.

Leave a Reply

 
